Archiving a note will hide it from your list of notes without completely deleting it from your account. The note still exists and is still returned in matching search results. The note is archived indefinitely or until you un-archive it.
To un-archive a note:
Search for the note and open it
Open the note settings menu
Click "Archive note"
When the confirmation message displays, click "undo"